🚨Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, all in-person events have been moved to online-only events. Learn more →

BackyardHacks

MLH Summer League

Friday May 22, 2020
10:00am to May 24, 12:00pm EDT
Event is hosted online

Event Description

Pack your camping gear (joking!) and get ready to build hacks that help protect our environment or celebrate the outdoors. We want you to spend 48 hours building hacks that help all of us reconnect with nature. The first ~12 hours of the event will be heavily workshop focused if you're just getting started. The remaining time will be packed with mini-events and hacking time!

Who can attend?

Locations have different requirements for who can attend. This location is open to the following:

Schedule


Camp Schedule
Day (EST) PST EST UK GMT+1 IST Event
Friday 7:00 AM PST 10:00 AM EST 3:00 PM GMT+1 7:30 PM IST Hacking Begins & Opening Ceremony
Friday 7:10 AM PST 10:10 AM EST 3:10 PM GMT+1 7:40 PM IST Live Q&A with Camp Leaders
Friday 7:00 PM PST 10:00 PM EST 3:00 AM GMT+1 7:30 AM IST 36 Hours of Hacking Left
Saturday 7:00 AM PST 10:00 AM EST 3:00 PM GMT+1 7:30 PM IST Opening Ceremonies Replay
Saturday 7:10 AM PST 10:10 AM EST 3:10 PM GMT+1 7:40 PM IST Live Q&A with Camp Leaders
Saturday 7:30 AM PST 10:30 AM EST 3:30 PM GMT+1 8:00 PM IST Fireside Chat with Hackers
Saturday 7:00 PM PST 10:00 PM EST 3:00 AM GMT+1 7:30 AM IST 12 Hours of Hacking Left
Sunday 1:00 AM PST 4:00 AM EST 9:00 AM GMT+1 1:30 PM IST 6 Hours of Hacking Left
Sunday 4:00 AM PST 7:00 AM EST 12:00 PM GMT+1 4:30 PM IST How to Submit on Devpost Office Hours
Sunday 5:00 AM PST 8:00 AM EST 1:00 PM GMT+1 5:30 PM IST Initial Submission Deadline
Sunday 7:00 AM PST 10:00 AM EST 3:00 PM GMT+1 7:30 PM IST Hacking Ends & Final Submission Deadline
Sunday 7:30 AM PST 10:30 AM EST 3:30 PM GMT+1 8:00 PM IST Closing Stream Starts (Demos!)
Sunday 9:00 AM PST 12:00 PM EST 5:00 PM GMT+1 9:30 PM IST Closing Ceremony Ends

"Wilderness" Trainings
Day (EST) PST EST UK GMT+1 IST Event
Friday 8:00 AM PST 11:00 AM EST 4:00 PM GMT+1 8:30 PM IST Build your first skill for Amazon Alexa
Friday 10:00 AM PST 1:00 PM EST 6:00 PM GMT+1 10:30 PM IST Intro to the MEAN Stack, Powered by Blackrock
Friday 1:00 PM PST 4:00 PM EST 9:00 PM GMT+1 1:30 AM IST Build Actions for Google Assistant
Friday 4:00 PM PST 7:00 PM EST 12:00 AM GMT+1 4:30 AM IST App Deployment & Security with DigitalOcean
Friday 8:00 PM PST 11:00 PM EST 4:00 AM GMT+1 8:30 AM IST Capital One Intro to Python pt 1
Saturday 12:00 AM PST 3:00 AM EST 8:00 AM GMT+1 12:30 PM IST How to Collaborate on Code Projects with GitHub

Camp Activities
Day (EST) PST EST UK GMT+1 IST Event
Saturday 9:00 PM PST 12:00 AM EST 5:00 AM GMT+1 9:30 AM IST Wikipedia "Obstacle Course"
Saturday 10:30 PM PST 1:30 AM EST 6:30 AM GMT+1 11:00 AM IST Hacker Hangout
Saturday 3:00 AM PST 6:00 AM EST 11:00 AM GMT+1 3:30 PM IST Arts & Crafts w/ Bob Ross
Saturday 4:30 AM PST 7:30 AM EST 12:30 PM GMT+1 5:00 PM IST Hacker Hangout
Saturday 9:00 AM PST 12:00 PM EST 5:00 PM GMT+1 9:30 PM IST Scavenger Hunt
Saturday 10:30 AM PST 1:30 PM EST 6:30 PM GMT+1 11:00 PM IST Hacker Hangout
Saturday 1:00 PM PST 4:00 PM EST 9:00 PM GMT+1 1:30 AM IST MLHers Read Spooky Stories
Saturday 4:30 PM PST 7:30 PM EST 12:30 AM GMT+1 5:00 AM IST Hacker Hangout
Saturday 5:00 PM PST 8:00 PM EST 1:00 AM GMT+1 5:30 AM IST Build Your Own S'mores
Sunday 9:00 PM PST 12:00 AM EST 5:00 AM GMT+1 9:30 AM IST Camp Games
Sunday 7:05 AM PST 10:05 AM EST 3:05 PM GMT+1 7:35 PM IST U.S. Airforce Cybersecurity Challenges

Additional Information

What is the MLH Summer League?

In an effort to better support the hacker community during these uncertain times, we are working to provide hackers with opportunities to Learn, Build, and Share from the comfort of their homes all summer long. We’ll be ensuring there’s a digital hackathon for the hacker community every weekend for the entire summer.

Links & Resources

MLH Broadcast

Where we will be streaming workshops, activities, and announcements.

Unlocked when checked in.
MLH Discord Server

The chat platform where all the activities and fun will happen.

Unlocked when checked in.

Hosted by

Mary Siebert and 6 others

It's our mission to empower hackers! We help support the global hacker community.