Local Hack Day: Build

Local Hack Day: Build (2021)

Sunday January 10, 2021
2:00PM to Jan 18, 3:00AM EST
Event is hosted online

Event Description

Local Hack Day: Build is a week-long celebration of building hacks both big and small. Each day, you’ll receive challenges to complete. The more challenges you conquer, the more points you’ll earn. Tune in each day to check out the leaderboard and show off all that you’ve built. You pick which challenges to accept, so whether this is your first time coding or you’re a seasoned expert, Build has something for you.

Who can attend?

Locations have different requirements for who can attend. This location is open to the following:

Schedule

Local Hack Day: Build will run from Sunday, January 10th to Monday, January 18th. During this time, you can expect challenges for all skill levels. These challenges can be completed on your own time, and new ones will be released each day via email and on ! Once the daily challenges are announced, you’ll have 24 hours to complete and submit them in order to earn those points on the leaderboard.

If the daily challenges aren’t quite your speed, there will also be plenty of week-long challenges you can complete at any time. These will range from quick technical challenges to tasks you can complete with your guildmates, both beginner friendly and technically advanced so there is something for everyone. You can learn more about these below!

Live Sessions Schedule
Day (ET) PT ET UK IST Event
Sunday (ET) 11:00 AM PT 2:00 PM ET 7:00 PM UK 12:30 AM IST Join our Opening Ceremony
Sunday (ET) 12:30 PM PT 3:30 PM ET 8:30 PM UK 2:00 AM IST Set Up a Personal GitHub Page
Sunday (ET) 3:00 PM PT 6:00 PM ET 11:00 PM UK 4:30 AM IST Build with a Starter Pack
Sunday (ET) 5:00 PM PT 8:00 PM ET 1:00 AM UK 6:30 AM IST !Light - Recreate LHD: Build Site
Monday (ET) 4:30 AM PT 7:30 AM ET 12:30 PM UK 6:00 PM IST !Light - Recreate LHD: Build Site
Monday (ET) 6:30 AM PT 9:30 AM ET 2:30 PM UK 8:00 PM IST Hello, world in a new language
Monday (ET) 10:00 AM PT 1:00 PM ET 6:00 PM UK 11:30 PM IST Build and Depoy a Full Stack Web App with AWS
Monday (ET) 12:00 PM PT 3:00 PM ET 8:00 PM UK 1:30 AM IST Automate a Daily Task
Monday (ET) 3:00 PM PT 6:00 PM ET 11:00 PM UK 4:30 AM IST Chrome Dinosaur Game Challenge
Monday (ET) 5:00 PM PT 8:00 PM ET 1:00 AM UK 6:30 AM IST Build and Deploy Your First Website
Tuesday (ET) 10:30 PM PT 1:30 AM ET 6:30 AM UK 12:00 PM IST Chrome Dinosaur Game Challenge
Tuesday (ET) 12:00 AM PT 3:00 AM ET 8:00 AM UK 1:30 PM IST Build a Tic-Tac-Toe Game
Tuesday (ET) 9:30 AM PT 12:30 PM ET 5:30 PM UK 11:00 PM IST Redesign Your Favorite Website
Tuesday (ET) 11:30 AM PT 2:30 PM ET 7:30 PM UK 1:00 AM IST !Light in your Kitchen
Tuesday (ET) 1:00 PM PT 4:00 PM ET 9:00 PM UK 2:30 AM IST Basics of Blockchain with Horizen
Tuesday (ET) 5:00 PM PT 8:00 PM ET 1:00 AM UK 6:30 AM IST How to Collaborate on Code Projects with GitHub
Wednesday (ET) 10:30 PM PT 1:30 AM ET 6:30 AM UK 12:00 PM IST !Light in your Kitchen
Wednesday (ET) 11:30 PM PT 2:30 AM ET 7:30 AM UK 1:00 PM IST Write code to sort a list
Wednesday (ET) 10:00 AM PT 1:00 PM ET 6:00 PM UK 11:30 PM IST Capital One Intro to Python pt 1
Wednesday (ET) 11:30 AM PT 2:30 PM ET 7:30 PM UK 1:00 AM IST Design an outfit for Ellie
Wednesday (ET) 3:00 PM PT 6:00 PM ET 11:00 PM UK 4:30 AM IST MS Paint Bob Ross
Wednesday (ET) 3:45 PM PT 6:45 PM ET 11:45 PM UK 5:15 AM IST Jack's "Improptu" Draw a Blahaj Event
Wednesday (ET) 4:00 PM PT 7:00 PM ET 12:00 AM UK 5:30 AM IST IBM 2- z/OS Mainframe APIs: We're Always Online
Wednesday (ET) 5:30 PM PT 8:30 PM ET 1:30 AM UK 7:00 AM IST A project to achieve your New Year's Resolution
Thursday (ET) 10:30 PM PT 1:30 AM ET 6:30 AM UK 12:00 PM IST Design an outfit for Ellie
Thursday (ET) 10:30 PM PT 1:30 AM ET 6:30 AM UK 12:00 PM IST MS Paint Bob Ross
Thursday (ET) 12:00 AM PT 3:00 AM ET 8:00 AM UK 1:30 PM IST Explore a Buzzword Topic
Thursday (ET) 10:00 AM PT 1:00 PM ET 6:00 PM UK 11:30 PM IST Follow Any Tutorial to Build Something New
Thursday (ET) 11:30 AM PT 2:30 PM ET 7:30 PM UK 1:00 AM IST Cup Stacking
Thursday (ET) 4:00 PM PT 7:00 PM ET 12:00 AM UK 5:30 AM IST Intro to Blockchain - Learning how to SCORE on ICON
Thursday (ET) 6:00 PM PT 9:00 PM ET 2:00 AM UK 7:30 AM IST Hack the Technical Interview: Algorithms Practice
Friday (ET) 9:00 PM PT 12:00 AM ET 5:00 AM UK 10:30 AM IST Cup Stacking
Friday (ET) 10:30 PM PT 1:30 AM ET 6:30 AM UK 12:00 PM IST Build a project that uses a data set
Friday (ET) 6:00 AM PT 9:00 AM ET 2:00 PM UK 7:30 PM IST Capital One Intro to Python pt 2
Friday (ET) 10:00 AM PT 1:00 PM ET 6:00 PM UK 11:30 PM IST Capital One Intro to Python pt 3
Friday (ET) 2:30 PM PT 5:30 PM ET 10:30 PM UK 4:00 AM IST Connect Two APIs Together
Saturday (ET) 6:30 AM PT 9:30 AM ET 2:30 PM UK 8:00 PM IST Social Media API
Saturday (ET) 9:00 AM PT 12:00 PM ET 5:00 PM UK 10:30 PM IST LHD: Build Leaderboard Update
Saturday (ET) 10:00 AM PT 1:00 PM ET 6:00 PM UK 11:30 PM IST Leverage a Cloud Database
Saturday (ET) 2:00 PM PT 5:00 PM ET 10:00 PM UK 3:30 AM IST Sketchful.io with Jon
Sunday (ET) 11:00 PM PT 2:00 AM ET 7:00 AM UK 12:30 PM IST Sashrika's To Be Determined Mini-Event
Sunday (ET) 3:00 AM PT 6:00 AM ET 11:00 AM UK 4:30 PM IST Create a Hackathon Brand for Something You Love
Sunday (ET) 6:30 AM PT 9:30 AM ET 2:30 PM UK 8:00 PM IST Save the Blahajs
Sunday (ET) 9:00 AM PT 12:00 PM ET 5:00 PM UK 10:30 PM IST LHD: Build Leaderboard Update
Sunday (ET) 10:00 AM PT 1:00 PM ET 6:00 PM UK 11:30 PM IST Use GPS or Maps Technology
Sunday (ET) 2:00 PM PT 5:00 PM ET 10:00 PM UK 3:30 AM IST Use GPS or Maps Technology

Additional Information

Other Links:
Submission Links:
Daily Check In Links:
Submissions

Submit your challenges to earn points for yourself and your Guild. If you are completing a daily challenge, you will submit to the Daily Challenges Devpost and the Daily Challenges Typeform. For week-long challenges, you will submit to the Week-Long Challenges Devpost and the Week-Long Challenges Typeform. Where you submit is dependent upon the challenge and you can find the link you should use by looking at the challenges section of the Local Hack Day: Build website.

Guilds

One of the best parts of our community is that it allows people to meet and make connections with others, regardless of where you live. Form a guild of hackers and fight for a spot on the leaderboard. Who wouldn’t want bragging rights for having one of the most active guilds within the MLH community!

Every time you complete a challenge during the week of Local Hack Day: Build, you’ll earn points for your Guild. There’s strength in numbers so it’s important to spread the word and we are here to help by providing you with pre-made marketing templates. Use these to share the excitement with your club, friends, and local hackers! The more members you have, the more points you’ll get and the faster you’ll climb your way up the leaderboard.

Points

Earn points for yourself and your Guild by completing our challenges throughout Local Hack Day: Build. Points are rewarded based on your participation and completion of challenges throughout the week of Local Hack Day: Build. These range from daily challenges to week-long challenges which can be as simple as posting on your social media or as advanced as completing a workshop and building a hack.

Swag

We have some seriously cool swag up our sleeves for Local Hack Day: Build and we’ve made it simpler than ever for you to earn it. It all starts with checking in to events. Whether it’s a workshop or just the day of the event, you can earn tons of stickers to deck out your laptop, postcards, and more.

Everyone who checks in and completes a single challenge will receive:
• An MLH Sticker
• An Ellie Season Sticker
• A Local Hack Day: Build Hexagon Sticker
• A Thank You Postcard

If you check in each day, you will receive:
• A bonus set of six hexagon stickers

Hosted by

Major League Hacking and 6 others

Major League Hacking is the global hacker community. Our mission is to empower hackers.