INIT 2022: Day 2

INIT 2022

Monday June 28, 2021
12:00PM to Jun 29, 4:00PM EDT
Event is hosted online

Event Description

INIT is a celebration for the start of the 2022 Hackathon Season! While this is the first time we are running INIT, the format will feel familiar to those who have participated in Local Hack Day. You can expect to complete challenges, hear about BIG community announcements, chat at hacker hangouts, enjoy fun live sessions, and make new memories (and memes).

Join us June 27th through July 5th! Learn more about the event at init.mlh.io!

Registration

  1. Complete our swag form - https://hackp.ac/INITswag
  2. Update your address - https://hackp.ac/address
  3. Join Discord and a Guild - https://discord.mlh.io/

Links

Day Check In Devpost Form
Week-Long Check In Devpost Form
Day 1 Check In Devpost Form
Day 2 Check In Devpost Form
Day 3 Check In Devpost Form
Day 4 Check In Devpost Form
Day 5 Check In Devpost Form
Day 6 Check In Devpost Form
Day 7 Check In Devpost Form
Day 8 Check In Devpost Form

Swag

We know what you’re excited for at INIT. We’ve got some awesome stickers and swag ready to go for every participant. It’s simpler than ever for you to earn your swag.

After you’ve completed our registration challenges, you’ll have earned yourself:
- An MLH Sticker
- A Season Mascot Sticker
- An INIT Hexagon Sticker
- A Thank You Postcard

Check in each day to earn:
- A super secret set of bonus hexagon stickers!

If you still aren’t satiated on swag, while supplies last, you may receive:
- MLH & Capital One Face Masks

Guilds

One of the best parts of our community is that it allows people to meet and make connections with others, regardless of where you live. Form a guild of hackers and fight for a spot on the leaderboard. Who wouldn’t want bragging rights for having one of the most active guilds within the MLH community?

Everytime you complete a challenge during the week of INIT, you’ll earn points for yourself and your guild. There’s strength in numbers, so here are some pre-made marketing templates. Remember, sharing is caring - so use these to share the excitement with your local community, friends, and classmates! The more members your guild has, the more points you’ll earn and the faster you’ll climb your way up the leaderboard.

Form a Guild - hackp.ac/initformaguild
Join a Guild - discord.mlh.io

Challenges and Points

Earn points for yourself and your guild by completing our challenges throughout INIT. Challenges aren’t the only way to earn points. You can also receive a point each time you check in for a live session, so the more you attend, the more points you’ll rack up. Learn more about our challenges here. They can be as simple as posting on your social media or as advanced as building a project and creating a full demo video for it. We’ll leave it to you to choose which challenges you want to take on. Feel free to work collaboratively with others on these.

At INIT, we will have plenty of week-long and daily challenges to keep you busy. Week-long challenges will be accessible for the entire week, so you can hack on them whenever you have free time. Daily challenges are only available for 24 hours after they’re originally posted, so make sure you come back each day to see which challenges you’re going to conquer.

Challenges will range from social challenges urging you to connect with other members of the community, technical challenges that will expand your coding skills, and design challenges to refine your skills as a creator and artist. Some of these challenges will be completed live on our twitch stream, so you can follow along and complete it with the community. We cannot wait to see all that you learn, build, and share.

Season Announcements

This week is the start of the 2022 Hackathon Season. You'll get to hear a Keynote from MLH CEO and Co-Founder Swift, discover the new season mascot, and see the MLH Top 50 class of 2021.

Who can attend?

Locations have different requirements for who can attend. This location is open to the following:

Schedule

Day PT ET UK IST Event
Monday (ET) 10:00 AM (PT) 1:00 PM (ET) 6:00 PM (UK) 10:30 PM (IST) !Light
Monday (ET) 11:00 AM (PT) 2:00 PM (ET) 7:00 PM (UK) 11:30 PM (IST) Build and Deploy a Full Stack Web App with AWS
Monday (ET) 5:00 PM (PT) 8:00 PM (ET) 1:00 AM (UK) 5:30 AM (IST) Create a Reminder Application
Tuesday (ET) 11:30 PM (PT) 2:30 AM (ET) 7:30 AM (UK) 12:00 PM (IST) Create a Health App
Tuesday (ET) 6:00 AM (PT) 9:00 AM (ET) 2:00 PM (UK) 6:30 PM (IST) !Light
Tuesday (ET) 11:00 AM (PT) 2:00 PM (ET) 7:00 PM (UK) 11:30 PM (IST) Create a Hack to help you Travel
Tuesday (ET) 3:00 PM (PT) 6:00 PM (ET) 11:00 PM (UK) 3:30 AM (IST) Chrome Dino
Tuesday (ET) 6:00 PM (PT) 9:00 PM (ET) 2:00 AM (UK) 6:30 AM (IST) Introduction to Threat Hunting using Elastic Security
Wednesday (ET) 11:30 PM (PT) 2:30 AM (ET) 7:30 AM (UK) 12:00 PM (IST) Chrome Dino
Wednesday (ET) 6:00 AM (PT) 9:00 AM (ET) 2:00 PM (UK) 6:30 PM (IST) Rickroll someone using your favorite tech
Wednesday (ET) 8:00 AM (PT) 11:00 AM (ET) 4:00 PM (UK) 8:30 PM (IST) MLH Fellowhip Q&A

Hosted by

Mary Siebert

Major League Hacking is the global hacker community. Our mission is to empower hackers.